History of the Junior Davis Cup

In 1972, thanks to the push of a few visionary enthusiasts from the Touquet Tennis Club, that the "Jean Becker Cup" was born. The idea was to bring together the best young European players under the age of 21.


Since its creation, the competition has met with great sporting and popular success, welcoming big names such as Martina Navratilova or Yannick Noah.


These competitions were quickly renamed "Annie Soisbault Cup" for girls and the "Jean Borotra Cup" for boys.


The evolution of the circuit towards an increased professionalism led to several successive changes: the age was lowered to 18 years old, then 16 years old, and the departure of the Annie Soisbault cup in the mid-1980s.


Led by the ITF and Tennis Europe, this competition has been organized for 48 editions by Le Touquet Tennis Club, and was finally renamed in the 2000s "Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas - Borotra Cup".


It awards the title of European team champion for boys 16 and under.


The Touquet Tennis Club has therefore hosted many tennis legends, bets including many world number one and Grand Slam winners such as: Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Yannick Noah, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Stefan Edberg, Boris Becker, Marat Safin, Andy Murray, as well as the best French players of recent decades with Richard Gasquet, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Gaël Monfils and more recently the next generation of world tennis: Kyle Edmund, Alexander Zverev, Andrei Rublev, Karen Khachanov, Daniil Medvedev, Ugo Humbert or Corentin Moutet!